April 17, 2014 10:00 AM

Dave Perkins, LCG Comp Plan honored along with local architects and designers at the 2014 INDesign Awards

The life and legacy of Dave Perkins will be commemorated with a special Lifetime Achievement Award as part of the 2014 INDesign Awards on April 24. Perkins, who died Feb. 7, designed many of Lafayette's landmark buildings, including the downtown branches of IberiaBank (formerly Guaranty Bank) and the Lafayette Parish Library as well as J.W. Faulk and S. J. Montgomery elementary schools, a number of office buildings on South College Road and in the Oil Center and several Bendel Garden homes.

Perkins is also credited as the driving force behind the creation of UL Lafayette's architecture program (then SLI) and mentored more than a dozen local architects in the decades he practiced his craft. Accepting the award will be his widow, Edna, who worked closely with Perkins as he helped define Lafayette's contemporary architectural landscape. 

Dave Perkins 

The Lafayette Consolidated Government's Comprehensive Plan will receive The INDesign INNOV8tion Award, which commemorates inventive projects or concepts within the local built community and was created as a result of a partnership with INNOV8 Lafayette. Unlike past efforts, this plan has been well-funded, driven by a respected national firm experienced in building broad community engagement using the best research practices of the day. It comes at a pivotal time in our growth and will prove a solid blueprint for Lafayette to evolve into a competitive, livable city in the 21st century. It has also received unprecedented commitment from local government's chief executive, City-Parish President Joey Durel, who will be traveling with family the week of the luncheon. Durel has tapped his assistant, Carlee Alm-Labar, to accept on behalf of LCG. "No one has worked harder on the comp plan than Carlee," says Durel. "We are thrilled with the honor."

The INDesign Awards is an annual juried competition to recognize excellence in architecture, interior design and historic preservation in Lafayette and the five surrounding parishes. This year's winning firms in the residential division include DB Architecture, Greg Walls Building+Design, Moss Interiors, Design by Todd, Swags & Tassels, Zaunbrecher Design, Arch & Also, and Edson L. Davis Design. Winners in the commercial division include Architects Beazley Moliere, Paul J. Allain, Atelier V and Donald J. Breaux.

Keynote speaker for the event will be French architect/historian Stephane Kirkland, author of Paris Reborn, a highly acclaimed account of the transformation of Paris from a dirty, dangerous and congested city into a European landmark during the reign of Napoleon III. It is a story that resonates today as Lafayette grapples with its own planning and development legacy. Copies of Kirkland's book will be available for sale and signing at the event.

Join us as we celebrate the talented men and women whose life's work will determine how our cities and neighborhoods will function for generations to come. IberiaBank is presenting sponsor of the event. Additional sponsors include Paul Michael Company and Tops Appliances & Cabinetry, Van Eaton & Romero and Uniglobe Associated Travel.

The luncheon is slated for Thursday, April 24, at 11:45 a.m. at The Hilton Lafayette. Ticket information is available online at www.theind.com/events or by contacting Robin Hebert at (337) 769-8603 or robinh@theind.com.

Read the Flipping Paper!