Sept. 15, 2015 12:52 AM
Eight Women Who Mean Business honorees and one Trailblazer will be honored this year.

Since 1999, 125 local women of distinction have received the Women Who Mean Business Award from ABiz Magazine. They represent a broad range of professions, including business, law, medicine, education, hospitality, media, insurance, banking, non-profits, public service, oil and gas, and more. They are recognized for their entrepreneurship, professionalism, civic involvement and community leadership. Since 2004, ABiz has also recognized sixteen retired or semi-retired women as Trailblazers who paved the way for future generations of women. Each fall these honorees, past and present, gather for a luncheon with friends, family, colleagues and community leaders to share the stories of their challenges and victories. The annual Women Who Mean Business Awards Luncheon has become a day of celebration and inspiration for all since it was founded sixteen years ago.

Lexi Baldridge, Jill Merkl, and Mary Guidry of IberiaBank

This year’s luncheon is slated for Thursday, Oct. 8, at 11:30 at River Oaks Catering and Event Center. IberiaBank and LHC Group underwrite this event as presenting co-sponsors. Courtesy Automotive Group is the supporting sponsor, and Paul’s Jewelry creates a special commemorative gift for each honoree.

For Acadiana President Jerry Vascocu, the WWMB luncheon is a favorite among the many community events IberiaBank sponsors each year. “We work alongside inspiring women every day, both within the bank and throughout the Acadiana business community,” he says. “These honorees are extraordinary, innovative and entrepreneurial leaders who make great contributions to our region. We are proud to sponsor an event that celebrates their success and, more broadly, the important role women play in making Acadiana such a great place to work and to live.”

Keith and Ginger Myers of LHC Group

Keith Myers, chairman and CEO of LHC Group, notes that women make up the largest segment of his company’s workforce, which includes over 10,000 employees providing post-acute care for patients and families in 28 states. “From clinicians to executive leaders, women help us maintain focus and deliver quality, patient-centered care to more than 40,000 people every day across this country,” he says. “ Without their contribution, we would not be one of the leading providers of post-acute care services and the chosen home health partner for over 60 leading hospitals and health systems in the U.S.”

This year’s honorees are Missy Rogers, Pascale Henry, Ginger Louviere, Cynthia Simien, Luranie Richard, Carlee Alm-Labar, Allyson Pharr, and Carol Trosclair. The 2015 Trailblazer is Dr. Carolyn Bruder. Their profiles are published in this special WWMB issue of ABiz.

Seating is limited for the awards luncheon. Tickets are $40 per person or $350 for a reserved table for eight. For information, contact Robin Hebert via email at or by phone: 337.769.8603.

The Lafayette tastemakers behind the 2015 INDStyle Awards from left IND Media’s Robin Hebert, Aileen Dauterive of Park Lane, Amy Chappuis of Little Town, Marty Thibodeaux of Party Central, Sharon Moss of Moss Motors, Monica Broussard and Emily Adams of Coco Eros, Delanna Menard of the Aveda Institute, Beth Barber of Shoe La La, Leah Maxwell of Three Little Birds, Holly Babineaux of Bevo’s and Katelyn Miller of Shoe La La. Not pictured are Catherine Abdalla of Brothers and Muffy LeBlanc of Hemline. For information about this annual event, slated Sept. 17 for 2015, contact Robin Hebert:
Photo by Robin May