2017 Inaugural ICON Awards

Last night at the Acadiana Center for the Arts, the inaugural ICON Arts and Cultural Awards pulled off a two-for: honoring a dozen artists and a philanthropic foundation for their contributions to Acadiana culture while raising money to create and sustain an endowed fund at the Community Foundation of Acadiana — the ABC Fund, short for Arts, Business and Culture — to support the creative economy. Honorees at the Thursday night gala were artist George Marks (creative economy for his work with NuNu Arts & Culture Collective in Arnaudville), Joshua Caffery and Joel Savoy for their re-creations of early Lomax recordings; choreographer Clare Cook (rising star); the Heymann Foundation for its support of the arts; photographer Debbie Fleming Caffery (visual arts) and singer-songwriter Zachary Richard (performing arts). Saxophonist and conceptual artist Dickie Landry received a lifetime achievement award, and Special Trailblazer Recognition was given to five late artists who have shaped generations of creativity in various disciplines: painters Elemore Morgan Jr. and George Rodrigue, and musicians Clifton Chenier, Stanley “Buckwheat Zydeco” Durel and David Egan.


Introducing The Current