Business Scene

ABiz Scene

ABiz was on the scene last month for the Lafayette Young Lawyers Association's installation of officers, the Top 50 Privately Held Companies luncheon featuring The Advocate's John Georges and the second annual Ragin' Cajuns Athletic Celebration.

IberiaBank partnered with NeunerPate law firm to host the Lafayette Young Lawyers Association's downtown installation of officers where Cliff LaCour, a NeunerPate associate, was sworn in as incoming president of the association. Joining IberiaBank and NeunerPate associates at the gathering were LYLA members from the Lafayette area, as well as the Lafayette Bar Association board of directors and staff, including Heather Broussard, the newly named executive director for LBA. Lafayette Young Lawyers Association, which is a section of the LBA, is composed of attorneys under 40 or those in practice for five years or less. LYLA members represent about one-fourth of the LBA's total membership.

1. Heather Broussard and Jaclyn Bridges
2. Aubrey Denton, Penny Rogers, Heather Broussard, Claire Oliver and Tammy DeRouen
3. Aubrey Denton and daughter Aubrey Denton
4. Amy Castro, Will Montz, Jerry Prejean and Kevin Stockstill
5. Blake David, Kevin Blanchard, Jerry Prejean and Jeremy Morrow
6. Dean Cole, Amy Castro and JoLynn Cole
7. Bill Stagg and Jean-Paul Coussan
8. Blake David, Anita Begnaud, Judi LeJeune and Mary Nain

Businessman John Georges, the new owner of The Advocate, told a sold-out crowd at the Cajundome Convention Center that he is banking on the continued success of the printed word, which he believes can grow in concert with the digital direction of the news industry. "We believe people still want to read a newspaper," said Georges, the keynote speaker at ABiz's Top 50 Privately Held Companies luncheon. And we couldn't agree more. Georges was introduced by the Greater Lafayette Chamber of Commerce's new President and CEO Jason El Koubi, who made his first public appearance at the annual luncheon, which honors not only the top privately held businesses in the region but also the eight (now nine, as Frank's International went public this year) publicly traded companies. Frank's was honored as the NO. 1 company on this year's list, and businessman Seenu Kasturi of Blue Victory Holdings won the Dealmaker of the Year award, which is announced at the luncheon. The McIhenny Company received the Acadiana Honors Award from the Acadiana Economic Development Council. Presenting cosponsors for the event are the law firm of Allen & Gooch and Whitney Bank. Additional sponsors include AEDC, Frank's International, Pinnacle Group, Vidox Motion Imagery and the insurance firm of Alford, Staples, Lapeyre & Robichaux.

1. Dr. Kip Schumacher and Chuck Lein
2. Duayne Richard and Clay Allen
3. Ross Little, Patrick Kane III and Pat Kane
4. Dr. Pat Cooper and Jady Regard
5. Clint Dore, Tracy Pellerin and Brandon Hyde
6. Cherry Fisher May, Amber LeBleu and Jenna Fontenot
7. Rob Eddy, Julie Simon-Dronet, Jason El Koubi and Jerry Greig
8. Ed Krampe, Dr. Kip Schumacher, Bill Cassidy, Clay Allen, John Georges, Duayne Richard, Lenny Lemoine, Emile Joseph and Bill Fenstermaker
9. Chad Hebert, Sandy Purgahm and Scott Riddley
10. Monica Hebert, Emily Burke, Julie Gauthier, Bria Wheeler and Kim Neustrom
11. Tony Simmons and Michael Tarantino
12. Keith Mosing
13. John Georges
14. Stan Gauthier, Fred D. Alexander, Seenu Kasturi, Daniel Slone and Nikhil Akkaraju

The second annual Ragin' Cajuns Athletic Celebration, sponsored by the Ragin' Cajuns Athletic Foundation, was held Saturday, Aug. 24, at the Cajundome Convention Center where Cajun fans gathered to support UL athletics and coaches. Guests included local business owners and fans who mingled and enjoyed dining, drinks and entertainment - and of course talked about upcoming Cajun games. Preliminary numbers show about 1,500 supporters turned out for the event and helped raise more than $225,000 through tickets and auction items. All proceeds will go toward recruiting and retaining quality coaching staff for UL athletics.

1. "T-Boy" Hebert, Rusty Cloutier, and Jackie and Scott Farmer
2. Debbie and Darrell Bruchaus
3. Gene and Julia Lognion
4. Jamie and Tyler Hebert
5. Eric and Emily Arceneaux
6. Kevin and Heather Blanchard, and Steve and Sarah Oubre
7. Courtney and Brady Allis, and Jami and Jason DeJean
8. Nathan and Dana Granger, and Jodi and Errol Domingues
9. John and Jennifer Raggio
10. Todd Trahan and Jorge Nunez
11. Brian Fontenot, Fred Credeur, Adam Credeur and Paul Vidrine
12. Brett Davis and Jennifer and Nock LeMeunier