Acadiana Business

Cox's Dronet chairing chamber in 2014

by Leslie Turk

Executive director of Cox's Acadiana operations will assume reins from Pinnacle Group's Rob Eddy

Julie Dronet

Julie Dronet, executive director of Cox's Acadiana operations, will lead the Greater Lafayette Chamber of Commerce as chairman beginning in January 2014. She takes over from 2013 chairman Rob Eddy of Pinnacle Group and will be 79th chairman of the board.

As part of the transitional leadership program in place at the local business lobbying group, Joseph Zanco, chief financial officer of Home Bank, was selected chairman-elect.

Beginning in August, the chamber solicited nominations from its membership for individuals to serve on the board of directors for a three-year term. The Nominating Committee, led by Immediate Past Chairman Jerry Greig of Fugro Chance Inc., considered the nominees with the goal of selecting a diverse slate of eight candidates to meet the current and future needs of the chamber. The Nominating Committee then presented its slate of candidates and officers to the Executive Committee and board for ratification and election.

Selected to serve a three-year term on the board are the following members:
    Kevin Blanchard, chief development officer, Lafayette Consolidated Government
    Donald Broussard, CFO, The Lemoine Company
    Todd Citron, general manager/owner, Hub City Ford
    Grant Guillotte, commercial banking section manager, Capital One Bank
    Dr. Natalie Harder, chancellor, South Louisiana Community College
    Jay Jackson, president/CEO, Stuller Inc.
    David Mann, director of fleet management, Knight Oil Tools
    Mike Moncla, CEO, Moncla Companies

"There is a palpable energy around the chamber as we begin an exciting new phase," the chamber's new president and CEO Jason El Koubi noted in announcing the new board. "These board members will provide enormous talent and business focus as the chamber moves forward, including improving its membership services and benefits, cultivating stronger public policy and advocacy capabilities, becoming a stronger partner to other economic development organizations in the region, and providing business leadership across Acadiana."

According to chamber bylaws, the chairman of the board has six one-year appointments, including at least one past chamber chairman. Appointed to these one-year seats by Dronet are the following members (one seat is still being confirmed):
    Stephen Bartley, Agent, New York Life Insurance
    Elise Bouchner, Managing Partner, Excelerant
    Erick Knezek, Founder and Managing Partner, Truston Technologies, Inc.
    Donna Landry, Chief Operating Officer, Our Lady of Lourdes Regional Medical Center (Past Chamber Chairman)
    Drake Pothier, Agent/Owner, Allstate Insurance

Selected as officers to serve on the 2014 Executive Committee are the following members:
    Julie Dronet, executive director, Cox Acadiana (chairman)
    Joseph Zanco, CFO, Home Bank (chairman-elect)
    Rob Eddy, owner, Pinnacle Group (immediate past chairman)
    Jason El Koubi, president and CEO, Greater Lafayette Chamber of Commerce
    Dr. Natalie Harder, chancellor, South Louisiana Community College
    Jay Jackson, president/CEO, Stuller, Inc.
    Donna Landry, COO, Our Lady of Lourdes Medical Center
    Frank Neuner, managing partner, NeunerPate
    Allyson Pharr, senior VP of legal and governmental affairs, Acadian Companies
    Jerry Vascocu, president, Acadiana Market, IberiaBank

The chairman, executive committee and new board members begin their terms Jan. 1.