Legal Matters

Legal Matters: NeunerPate‘s Coreil wins Sandra Day O‘Connor Award

by Leslie Turk

Prestigious honor annually recognizes a single attorney for excellence in public interest/pro bono work.

Jeffrey Coreil

NeunerPate attorney Jeffrey K. Coreil is in D.C. to receive the prestigious Sandra Day O‘Connor Award for his public interest/pro bono work.

The Sandra Day O‘Connor Award for Professional Service is presented annually by the American Inns of Court to a single court member in practice for 10 or fewer years. Coreil will receive the award Saturday at the annual American Inns of Court Celebration of Excellence at the U.S. Supreme Court building; the event is hosted by Associate Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg.

Coreil is a fifth year associate with the Lafayette-based law firm of NeunerPate, where he practices in maritime and admiralty law, as well as toxic tort and environmental litigation. He has contributed more than 388 hours of legal work to the impoverished and victimized residents of Lafayette Parish. Actively involved in the Lafayette Volunteer Lawyer program, Coreil spearheaded the Counsel on Call, which offers 15-minute conferences with volunteer attorneys for basic legal advice. As a member of the LVL Protective Order Panel, Coreil assists victims of domestic violence with their petitions for Title 46 protective orders. He also accepts pro bono civil cases and coordinates the efforts of volunteer attorneys to assist homeless individuals through H.E.L.P. for the Homeless.

Honors Coreil has received include the 2013 Louisiana State Bar Association Crystal Gavel, the 2012 LSBA Pro Bono Publico Award and the Young Lawyers Division Pro Bono Award, and the LSBA Pro Bono Century Award in 2011, 2012, and 2013.

Coreil earned his bachelor of science degree in business administration from LSU, and his juris doctorate and Graduate Diploma of Civil Law from LSU‘s Paul M. Hebert Law Center, where he served as president of the student bar association and president of his class.

View the list of past recipients since the award‘s inception in 2001 here.