Turk File

Community Foundation honors Hilliard Longtime oilman to receive Leader in Philanthropy Award for Lafayette Parish Nov. 3; Van Eaton & Romero also honored..

Longtime oilman to receive Leader in Philanthropy Award for Lafayette Parish Nov. 3; Van Eaton & Romero also honored.

Paul Hilliard

The Community Foundation of Acadiana will honor Paul Hilliard at its fifth-annual Leaders in Philanthropy Awards Luncheon Nov. 3 at the Cajundome Convention Center. Doors open at 11 a.m., and the program is from 11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Hilliard was chosen to receive the 2015 Leaders in Philanthropy Award for his contributions to Lafayette Parish. He is a leader in the Louisiana energy industry and has also contributed greatly to K-12 education, higher education and history museums in the area.

In 1954, Hilliard founded Badger Oil Corporation, and since then has served on the board of both the Independent Petroleum Association of America and the Louisiana Oil and Gas Association.

Among his many contributions to the Lafayette community, he served as the president of the Lafayette Catholic Service Centers (currently Catholic Services of Acadiana) and provided $5 million to establish the Paul and Lulu Hilliard University Art Museum at UL Lafayette. Hilliard’s educational efforts include the establishment of the Badger Excellence in Education Foundation, with the mission to improve reading and education in local schools.

He served as a member of the board of trustees of the National World War II Museum in New Orleans where he is a longtime member of the executive committee, and has chaired both the education and the collections committees of this expanding institution.

Hilliard is one of 14 individuals who will be recognized for making a positive impact in their communities through philanthropy. Joining him are:
• Acadia Parish – Charlotte and Joe Freeland
• Evangeline Parish – Kermit and Sheila Miller
• Iberia Parish – Johnny & Cathy Indest
• St. Landry Parish – Pat and Alice Morrow
• St. Martin Parish – David Buck
• St. Mary Parish – Sylvia and Fulton C. “Butch” Felterman Jr.
• Vermilion Parish – Paul Patout and Patrick Patout

Nominations were submitted by the community, and CFA’s board of directors emeriti made final selections. In addition to the above award recipients, CFA will also present two corporate awards to Van Eaton & Romero, a Latter & Blum Company; and Cabot Corporation for outstanding philanthropy in Acadiana.

The luncheon will also feature keynote speaker Jim Parker, former CEO of Southwest Airlines and author of Do the Right Thing: How Dedicated Employees Create Loyal Customers and Large Profits. Luncheon tickets and tables are open to the public. Tickets are $75 each, and tables of eight are $500. To register to attend, visit cfacadiana.org/LIPRegistration or contact Bethany Danos at [email protected] or (337)769-4849. The deadline to purchase tickets is Oct. 23.