Former Landrieu, Blanco aide joins JBE as communications director Richard Carbo most recently worked for End Citizens United PAC, which has been fighting to the destructive impact of the U.S. Supreme Court’s 2010 campaign finance decision.

Richard Carbo

Gov.-Elect John Bel Edwards announced Wednesday that Richard Carbo, former deputy press secretary for Gov. Kathleen Blanco, will serve as his communications director during the transition and into the new administration.

After leaving Blanco’s administration, Carbo went on to serve as aides to former U.S. Sen. Mary Landrieu and former Democratic U.S. Rep. John Barrow of Georgia. Carbo most recently directed communications in the Washington, D.C., area for End Citizens United PAC, which has been fighting the destructive force of the U.S. Supreme Court’s 2010 campaign finance decision that opened the door for corporations and unions to spend unlimited, untraceable money to defeat or elect candidates.

Carbo, who has a degree in communications from LSU and is an Alexandria native, assumes the new role Dec. 7, replacing Mary-Patricia Wray, who guided communications for the Edwards victory and had been assisting in the transition. Wray, according to Edwards, has decided to build her consulting business. “I can’t thank her enough for her loyalty to me and this cause over these last three years. I’m confident Richard and our new communications team will provide an unprecedented level of openness and accountability to Louisianans when we take office in January.”

Edwards also announced the formation of a new transition committee to begin the work of addressing the fiscal challenges facing the state. The Fiscal Matters Committee will be charged with identifying ways to eliminate the budget deficit, fund K-12 and higher education, and improve access to health care in the state.

Public Service Commissioner Foster Campbell and Sharon Robinson, former inspector general and assistant legislative auditor, will serve as co-chairs of the Fiscal Matters Committee. The initial members of the committee will begin meeting this week and continue meeting multiple times a week throughout the transition.

Also serving on the committee are (local names bolded):

April Jordan, staff auditor, City of Shreveport
Bob Keaton, retired, former sssistant to the president for budget, LSU
Bryant Hammett, owner, Bryant Hammett & Associates
Cade Cole, Louisiana Board of Tax Appeals, local tax judge
Christopher Odinet, professor, Southern University Law Center
Chuck Carpenter, compliance examiner, Office of Financial Institutions
Darren Olagues, president, Cleco Power
Desiree Honore Thomas, undersecretary, Department of Culture Recreation and Tourism
Edwin Murray, state senator
Gregory A. Ruppert, director, Bureau of Revenue and Taxation, Jefferson Parish
J.H. “Jay” Campbell, Jr., executive chairman, Associated Grocers
James Richardson, Ph.D., Harris J. and Marie P. Chustz Endowed Professor, LSU
Jan Moller, director, Louisiana Budget Project
Jason Decuir, director, Ryan, LLC
Jeff Koonce, vice president and general counsel, Bernhard Capital Partners
Jerry Luke LeBlanc, vice president for administration and finance, UL Lafayette
Kimberly Robinson, partner, Jones Walker, LLP
Laura Veazey, government relations consultant, Focus Strategies
Lauren Tarver, law student
Lawrence Chehardy, attorney, former assessor for Jefferson Parish
Lydia Jackson, vice president, CRA business development officer, Capital One
Michael Deshotels, retired educator
Paul Segura, owner, Segura Development
Regina Hamilton, associate general counsel, Chicago Bridge & Iron Company
Sean M. Bruno, CPA, Sean M. Bruno Certified Public Accountants
Shane Riddle, Louisiana Association of Educators
Stephanie Chavis Guillory, Louisiana Federation of Teachers
Ted Jones, attorney
Terrance Ginn, associate commissioner for finance, Louisiana Board of Regents
Vanessa LaFleur, director of policy and legislative services, Louisiana Department of Revenue
Wayne Brown, CEO, Brown Builders
William C. Potter, senior tax director, Postlethwaite and Netterville