Leslie Turk

Five interviewing for UL System president

by Leslie Turk

The search committee charged with finding a new president for the UL System will conduct public interviews of the five candidates next Wednesday and Thursday in the Claiborne Building Auditorium at 1201 N. Third St. in downtown Baton Rouge.

UL System President Sally Clausen will take over as the next commissioner of higher education with the Louisiana Board of Regents at the end of June. She is replacing T-Joe Savoie, who is assuming the presidency at UL Lafayette.

Full applications and meeting agendas can be viewed here. The interviews, which are open to the public, are as follows:

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

12 p.m. - James E. Cofer Sr., Ed.D. - president, University of Louisiana at Monroe

1:15 p.m. - Ronald J. White, Ph.D. - senior fellow, Division of Space Life Sciences, Universities Space Research Association, Center for Advanced Space Studies (Houston, Texas)

2:30 p.m. - Kim Hunter Reed, Ph.D. - executive vice president, University of Louisiana System (Hunter served as press secretary to Gov. Edwin Edwards from 1991-1995)

Thursday, June 12, 2008

9:00 a.m. - Micheal R. Moffett, Ed.D. - president, Southeastern Louisiana University

10:15 a.m. - Jo Ann Rooney, Ed.D. - president, Spalding University (Louisville, Kentucky)

UL System Board Chair Elsie Burkhalter leads the eight-member search committee, which includes Andre Coudrain, Winfred Sibille, Wayne Parker, Victor Bussie, Mildred Gallot, Jimmy Long Sr. and student board member Olinda Ricard.

The largest university system in Louisiana, the UL System enrolls approximately 80,000 students at eight universities: Grambling State, Louisiana Tech, McNeese State, Nicholls State, Northwestern State, Southeastern Louisiana, UL Lafayette and UL Monroe.