Leslie Turk

Fenroy named Sun Belt Player of the Year

by Leslie Turk

Eight Ragin' Cajuns earned 11 individual honors on the 2008 All-Sun Belt team, with the top honor, Sun Belt Player of the Year, going to senior running back Tyrell Fenroy. His selection is the highest honor ever achieved by a Ragin' Cajun player.

Joining Fenroy on the first team are senior quarterback Michael Desormeaux, who was also named the Sun Belt Offensive Player of the Year, and offensive linemen Brad Bustle and Chris Fisher. Senior wide receiver Jason Chery captured two awards, as he was named to the second team as a wide receiver and as an all-purpose specialist. The Cajuns claimed a total of three offensive linemen on the All-Sun Belt Team, as sophomore tackle Jonathan Decoster garnered honorable mention. Defensively, senior safety Derik Keyes placed on the second team and senior linebacker Antwyne Zanders was honorable mention.

Fenroy, a four-time All-SBC performer and the 2005 Sun Belt Freshman of the Year, earned his third straight first team honor. He became only the seventh player in NCAA history with four 1,000-yard rushing seasons and shattered the UL and Sun Belt records for career rushing yards and career rushing touchdowns. Fenroy was one of 10 semifinalists for the prestigious Doak Walker Award and the only player outside the BCS on that list. He was also a semifinalist for the Underdog Award by NationalChamps.net, which recognizes the best FBS Mid-Major player in the nation. He was named National Player of the Week after recording 297 rushing yards and three TDs in a rivalry game at ULM and was the SBC Offensive Player of the Week three times this season. Fenroy led the Sun Belt in rushing and scoring, both overall and per game, while placing 11th in the nation in rushing and 8th overall in scoring.

Read more about this year's All-SBC team here.