Jindal weighs in on Oct. 22 election

by Walter Pierce

While none of the endorsements was particularly surprising, Jindal's decision not to issue an endorsement in several races, including legislative races that will be voted on in Lafayette Parish, is noteworthy.

Gov. Bobby Jindal this week released endorsements in most statewide and legislative races. While none of the endorsements was particularly surprising, Jindal's decision not to issue an endorsement in several races, including legislative races that will be voted on in Lafayette Parish, is noteworthy.

Starting from the top, Jindal declined to make endorsements in the lieutenant governor's race pitting incumbent Jay Dardenne against Plaquemines Parish President Billy Nungesser and in the race between interim Secretary of State Tom Schedler and his opponent, House Speaker Jim Tucker. All of the candidates in those races are Republican.

Closer to home, Jindal skipped on issuing an endorsement in the newly created black-majority House District 96 race, which has a field of six candidates. He also declined to endorse a candidate in House 42, a curious decision since a fellow Republican, Anthony Emmons, is trying to unseat Democratic incumbent Rep. Jack Montoucet. U.S. Rep. Jeff Landry attended a fundraiser for and has supported Emmons' candidacy.

The governor also decided not to make an endorsement in the state Senate District 24 race in which conservative Democratic incumbent Sen. Elbert Guillory is fending off two opponents, most notably Opelousas Mayor Don Cravins who previously held the Senate 24 seat.

House Speaker Jim Tucker,
R-Terry Town, had a some-
times rocky relationship with
Gov. Bobby Jindal during his
tenure atop the House. Jindal
declined to endorse either
Tucker or his fellow Repub-
lican, incumbent Secretary of
State Tom Schedler, in the Oct.
22 election.

As anticipated, Jindal endorsed Republican Holly Boffy, the 2010 Louisiana Teacher of the Year from Lafayette, over incumbent Republican Dale Bayard in the BESE District 7 race. Jindal reportedly wants to stack the state school board with reform-minded members, and Boffy's recent call for ending teacher tenure dovetails with the governor's desire.

And Jindal evidently has no problem with late-comers to the GOP, endorsing Attorney General Buddy Caldwell, who switched from D to R earlier this year, over Joseph Cao, the Republican former Congressman from New Orleans.

Gov. Jindal's endorsements in statewide races:

Insurance Commissioner: Jim Donelon
Commissioner of Agriculture: Mike Strain
Attorney General: Buddy Caldwell
Treasurer: John Kennedy

Gov. Jindal's endorsements in BESE races:

BESE District 1    James Garvey
BESE District 3    Glenny Lee Buquet
BESE District 4    Walter Lee
BESE District 5    Jay Guillot
BESE District 6    Chas Roemer
BESE District 7    Holly Boffy

Gov. Jindal's endorsements for Senate:

SD01    AG Crowe
SD06    Bodi White
SD07    David Heitmeier
SD08    John A.  Alario, Jr.
SD09    Conrad Appel
SD10    Daniel "Danny" Martiny
SD11    Jack Donahue
SD15    Sharon Weston Broome
SD16    Dan Claitor
SD17    Rick Ward III
SD18    "Jody" Amedee
SD19    Garrett Monti
SD20    Norby Chabert
SD22    Fred Mills
SD23    Patrick Page Cortez
SD25    Dan "Blade" Morrish
SD26    Jonathan Perry
SD27    Ronnie Johns
SD28    Paul "Doc" Miller
SD29    Rick Gallot
SD30    John Smith
SD31    Gerald Long
SD32    Neil Riser
SD33    Mike Walsworth
SD34    Francis Thompson
SD35    Bob Kostelka
SD37    Jane Smith

Gov. Jindal's endorsements for House:

HD01    James Morris
HD04    Patrick Williams
HD05    Alan Seabaugh
HD06    Thomas Carmody
HD07    Richard T. Burford
HD09    Henry L. Burns
HD13    James R. Fannin
HD14    Samuel P. Little
HD15    Frank A. Hoffmann
HD18    Major Thibaut
HD19    Charles R. "Bubba" Chaney
HD20    Steve Pylant
HD21    John F. "Andy" Anders
HD22    Billy R. Chandler
HD24    Frank A. Howard
HD28    Kirby Roy III
HD31    Nancy Landry
HD33    Michael E Danahay
HD35    Brett F. Geymann
HD36    Chuck Kleckley
HD37    John E. Guinn
HD38    Julie Harrington
HD39    Don Menard
HD40    Ledricka Thierry
HD41    Mickey J. Guillory
HD43    Stuart Bishop
HD44    Ricky Hardy
HD45    Joel C. Robideaux
HD46    Mike Huval
HD47    Bob Hensgens
HD48    Taylor F. Barras
HD49    Simone B. Champagne
HD51    Joe Harrison
HD52    Gordon Dove
HD56    Greg Miller
HD59    Eddie J. Lambert
HD60    Karen St. Germain
HD65    Clifton R. Richardson
HD66    Hunter Greene
HD68    Stephen F. Carter
HD69    Erich E. Ponti
HD70    Franklin J. Foil
HD71    J. Rogers Pope
HD73    Stephen E. Pugh
HD74    Scott M. Simon
HD76    J. Kevin Pearson
HD77    John M. Schroder
HD78    Kirk Talbot
HD79    Anthony V. "Tony" Ligi
HD80    Joseph P. Lopinto
HD82    Cameron Henry
HD84    Patrick Connick
HD86    Chris Broadwater
HD87    Girod Jackson III
HD88    Johnny Berthelot
HD89    Timothy Burns
HD90    "Greg" Cromer
HD91    Walt Leger III
HD92    Thomas P. Willmott
HD93    Helena Moreno
HD95    Sherman Mack
HD97    Jared Brossett
HD98    Fenn French
HD100  Austin Badon
HD101  Harold Williams