Business Scene

ABiz Scene

City Club's beautiful Restaurant 1100 was the setting for the Pennington Quest for Wellness's sponsor and guest reception following a presentation by keynote speaker Dr. Larry Ohlhauser, author of "The Healthy CEO." Canadian native Ohlhauser gave a fascinating speech on the importance of having happy and corporate leaders and employees, followed by a presentation by Dr. Stephanie Mills of Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady Health System on the benefits of company wellness programs. River Ranch Developer Robert Daigle and Allen & Gooch Managing Partner Clay Allen spearheaded the first-time event, which featured a race, health seminars by Pennington scientists, Town Square events and a live music performance by show band Bag of Donuts.

(1) Barry and Julie Bleichner and Kirby Pecot (2) Dennis Doise, Dawn Fournet and John Kolwe (3) Dr. Larry Ohlauser (4) Dr. Stephanie Mills, Jennifer Winstead, Pam Shows, Jessica Erwin and Jill Hurley (5) Mitch and Sandy Landry and Jilly Hurley (6) Robert Daigle and Clay Allen

The Inn of Court of Acadiana placed both First and Third nationally in the American Inns of Court's Program Awards for 2010-2011. Two teams from Acadiana's Inn competed against 125 finalists from across the country for this unprecedented achievement of securing two of the top three places in the national AIC program award category. The Lafayette-based group also received the national Inn's Platinum Level Distinction for the second year in a row. Steve Lanza of The Onebane Firm led his Team 4 to victory with its presentation, "A Day in the Legal Life of The Beatles: It's Been a Hard Day's Night!" Third Place went to Team 1's presentation, "Lawyer Sings the Blues: Impairment, Privilege, and Protection of the Public," headed by Asst. U.S. Attorney Camille Domingue with co-team leader Frank Neuner of the law firm of Laborde and Neuner. This year, the Acadiana Inn received the American Inn of Court's 2011 Achieving Excellence Platinum Level Distinction. This is the highest possible commendation of a local Inn awarded by the AIC, an amalgam of attorneys, judges, law professors and law students. Assistant Attorney General Colleen McDaniel accepted the award on behalf of the Inn at a ceremony at the U.S. Supreme Court.

(7) Judges Richard Haik and James P. Doherty Jr., Will Grubbs, Judge
James McClelland and Mark Ross (8) Cade Evans and Blake David (9) Wil Montz, Cade Evans and Cliff Lacour (10) Dona Renegar, Tonya Smith, Kathy Hunter and Judge Paul deMahy (11) Steve Lanza, Stewart Welch, Chris Lee, Craig Strenge and John Saucier

LITE's beautiful high-tech facility was the fitting location for the Leadership Lafayette Graduation Class XXIV ceremony. Honorees and alumni gathered at the facility for heavy hors d'oeuvres, beer, wine and soft drinks prior to the ceremony. This year's class definitely shows potential for some high-caliber leadership in Lafayette's future.

(12) Rob Guidry, Gene Walters, Celine Hebert Walters and Ross Walters (13) Mary Elaire, Eldra Boudreaux, L'Kenya Jackson and Glinda Jackson (14) Liz Webb and Cydra Wingerter (15) Brian Bille, Phyllis McLaurin, Blaise and Monica Zuschlag and G. Geoffrey Jones (16) Kyle and Amy Bacon and Andrew Bacon (17) Nicole and Anthony DesOrmeaux (18) Meg Chase and Anne Laughlin (19) Dr. Melanie Fowler and Anne Falgout

It was a great Spellebration for the Adult Corporate Spelling Bee hosted by the Lafayette Public Library Foundation at the Lafayette Science Museum. After patrons noshed on delicious cuisine by local restaurants and toured the spectacular exhibit DINOSAURS: Ancient Fossils, New Discoveries, they gathered for the lively spelling bee. Library Director Sona Dombourian donned a bee-u-tiful beehive especially for the event. Winners of the first-time fundraiser were Molly Cole, Marsha Engelbrecht, Rosalind Foley and John Fran├žois, representing Shoreline Energy. Sen. Fred Mills served as emcee.

(20) Richard Kennedy III and Stacy Kennedy (21) Abby Patterson and Kennan Guillory (22) Alice Desandro and Vanessa Chain (23) Joan Wingate, Jason West and Linda Alesi (24) Joan Wingate, Richard Kennedy III, Judy Kennedy, and Sen. Fred Mills (25) Sona Domborian with her beehive updo (26) Molly Cole, Marsha Engelbrecht, Rosalind Foley and John Fran├žois

A packed house of attorneys and judges gathered at Trynd Downtown for a soiree honoring the Lafayette Bar Association's 2011-2012 President Larry Curtis and the installation of the board of directors. U.S. District Court Judge Rebecca F. Doherty did the honors of swearing in Curtis, following with the bar members' unanimous approval of the proposed slate of officers and board for the upcoming year. Elected were Blake David, president-elect; Tricia R. Pierre, secretary/treasurer, Andre Doguet, immediate past president, and board members Julia Autin, Nicole Breaux, Ariel Campos Sr., J. Bradley Duhe, Cade Evens, Shytishia A. Moore Flugence, Paul D. Gibson, Joseph C. Giglio Jr., Kyle L. Gideon, Steven Ramos, Cynthia K. Simon, Melissa L. Theriot, G. Edward Williams Jr. and Cassie Willis. Sponsors included Barcyzk Chiropractic Group and MidSouth Bank.